Blackboard Ultra (Faculty) - Creation of Course Shells in Blackboard Ultra
Creating Course Shells in Blackboard Ultra
ITS will automatically create a Blackboard shell for every scheduled course listed in CougarNet/Banner. The Blackboard course shells will automatically be created three months before the start of the upcoming semester (ex: October for SP27 courses); ITS will notify the campus when the courses have been created. Classes added to CougarNet/Banner after the initial course creation will have a course shell created in Blackboard by the following day.
Instructor of Record: TBA
Instructor Changes
CRN Changes
Adding Users
Add or Remove Users in a Blackboard Course Shell
Only the Blackboard Admin can add or remove users in a Blackboard course shell. Neither faculty nor Blackboard technical support can add or remove users.
To request a user be added or removed from a Blackboard course shell, the faculty member assigned to teach the course must complete the Add/Remove User form.
Add Students to a Blackboard Course Shell
Once a student enrolls in a course and is listed in CougarNet/Banner, the student will be automatically be added to the Blackboard course shell within 24 hours.
Remove Students from a Blackboard Course Shell
Once a student has dropped the course and the student is dropped from CougarNet/Banner, the student will automatically be removed from Blackboard course shell.
If the student dropped the course in CougarNet/Banner but is still showing up in the Bb course, the student can be removed by using the Add/Remove User form.
Educard Students
Educard students or students auditing the course can be added using the request form.
Merging Courses/Cross-listed Courses
Developmental Course Shell/Request
Make Courses Available
Making Your Blackboard Ultra Course Available to Students
By default, Blackboard Ultra courses are set to Private (unavailable to students) to give instructors time to build and customize their course content. Once you are ready for students to access the course, you need to make it available.
Steps to Make Your Course Available:
- Navigate to your course in Blackboard Ultra.
- In the upper-right corner, you will see the visibility status of your course as either "Closed" or "Open".
- If the course is set to "Closed", click the "Closed" link.

- A panel will open. Select the "Open" option.

- Your course is now available to students. The visibility status will now display "Open."

Making Your Blackboard Ultra Course Unavailable to Students
You may want to make your course unavailable to students at the end of the semester or while you are making significant changes to the course content.
Steps to Make Your Course Unavailable:
- Navigate to your course in Blackboard Ultra.
- In the upper-right corner, you will see the visibility status of your course as either "Open" or "Closed".
- If the course is set to "Open", click the "Open" link.
- A panel will open. Select the "Closed" option.
- Your course is now closed and unavailable to students. The visibility status will now display "Closed."
Need Additional Support?
If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact the ITS Help Desk:
- Call: (618) 650-5500
- Email: help@siue.edu
- Visit: Lovejoy Library Room 0005 during regular business hours.
This guide aims to provide useful information, but as technology changes, interfaces or steps might vary. Please use the Comment button to let us know if anything differs from your experience. Your feedback helps us keep this information accurate. Thank you!
Need Additional Support?
If you have any questions or need further assistance, please contact the ITS Help Desk:
- Call: (618) 650-5500
- Email: help@siue.edu
- Visit: Lovejoy Library Room 0005 during regular business hours.
This guide aims to provide useful information, but as technology changes, interfaces or steps might vary. Please use the Comment button to let us know if anything differs from your experience. Your feedback helps us keep this information accurate. Thank you!
