Blackboard (Faculty) - myContent: Overwrite an Existing File
If you make corrections to a file, such as update a syllabus, you need to overwrite the existing file. If you just upload a new file, the new file does not overwrite the existing file, but creates a copy with a (1) after the file name (syllabus.docx, syllabus(1).docx).
This document provides an overview of how to over write an existing file
- From the myContent, ensure you are in My Content click on the Upload button and select Upload Files.
- There are now two options to attach files. Click the Browse button. Search your computer for the file.
:An item can be unlocked only by the person who locked it. Locking an item prevents other users from editing it and precludes overwriting and versioning.
: If Comments are Shared, users with Read permission may view and add Comments.
: If Versioning is enabled, overwriting or editing a file will create a new Version.
: If Tracking is enabled, each instance that a user interacts with an item is recorded.
- The other option is to drag a file from your desktop and drop it into the box with the dashed lines. If you have multiple files to upload, you may drag and drop multiple files or entire folders into the box.
- If you are overwriting an existing file, check the box under the dash line. This will replace the existing file and not create a duplicate file.
- Click the Submit button at the bottom of the page.