Blackboard (Faculty) - myContent: About "Content"
Blackboard's Content Collection (Content) is a storage space for your files.
This document provides an overview of Blackboard's Content Collection.
Click on My Content to access the Content Collection.
My Content:your e-ID contains your personal folder. This folder is a storage space for files that are not associated with a course. For example, these files could be for a Portfolio, personal files for presentation or research, or course lecture material not found within the course.
To the left are additional folders:
Course Content: These folders are automatically created when your course is created. When you add files from within a course, using the "Browse My Computer" button, the files are automatically added to the Course Content folders.
Organization Content: These folders are automatically created when an Organization is created. When you add files from within an organization, using the "Browse My Computer" button, the files are automatically added to the Organization Content folders.
Institution Content: These folders and files are uploaded by departments for the use of their faculty. You will see only folders that you have permission to see.
Best Practices in the My Content
- Organize your files in folders to more easily search your content. Files are initially listed in alphabetical order. Keeping similar or related files together will make it easier to find what you need.
- Use the My Content folders to store presentations and research files as backup. If your main source (computer hard drive or jump drive) is damaged, these files will give you a backup source.
- Use the My Content files to share files with people outside of the university when a file is too large to email. By creating a Pass on a file, you may email a link to the file to a colleague outside the University.
- Create a Pass
- Create a Pass
- Note: Any files stored in the Course Content folders can not be seen by anyone in the course until they are linked within the course. Any files stored in the My Content area can only be seen by you until the files are shared (either by permission or passes).