Blackboard (Faculty) - Tests: Test Settings-Showing Feedback

This document provides an overview of what test settings to use and what will the students see.

Faculty have a choice of what answers and feedback they wish for their students to see. The following will show the settings in the "Edit Test Options" view and what the student sees with those settings.

Settings: Score Per Question

Setting: Score per question

Student's View:

Shows just the question and points received.

Student's view of score per question


Settings: Score Per Question and All Answers

Setting: Score per question and all answers

Student's View:

Shows all the answers, but not the correct or incorrect answers.

Student's viewo of Score Per Question and All Answers


Settings: Score per Question, All Answers, and Correct Answer

Setting: Score per question, all answers and correct answer

Student's View:

This view shows the correct answer with a green check mark icon. It does not show what answer the student chose.

Students view for Score Per Question, All Answers, Correct


Settings: Score per Question, All Answers, Correct Answer, and Submitted (selected) Answer


Setting: Score per question, all answers, correct answer, and submitted answer

Student's View:

This view shows what answer the student chose. Green check mark icon indicates the student selected the correct answer. A red "x" icon indicated the answer the student chose is wrong.

Score Per Question, All Answers, Correct, Submitted answer


Settings: Score per Question, All Answers, Correct Answer, Submitted Answer, and Feedback

Setting: Score per question, all answers, correct answer,  submitted answer, and feedback


Student's View:

This view shows the question's feedback. If this assessment is to be used as a learning tool, feedback will assist the student in finding the correct answer.

Students view for Score Per Question, All Answers, Correct, Submitted, Feedback


Settings: Score per Question, All Answers, Correct Answer, Submitted Answer, Feedback, and Show Incorrect Questions

Setting: Score per question, all answers, correct answer,  submitted answer, feedback and incorrect answer

Student's View:

This view shows a larger icon for correct and incorrect answers.

Student's view for Score Per Question, All Answers, Correct, Submitted, Feedback:


Settings: No check boxes

Settings: No check boxes selected


Student's View:

When all boxes are unchecked. Students will still see their score out of possible points.

Student View when no check boxes are selected


Student Preview

Once a setting has been selected, it is critical that faculty use the Student Preview option to verify that the settings are indeed what they expect their students to see.
  
1.  Access Student Preveiw:
  • Use these instruction to access Student Preview
    • Instructors can enter "Student Preview" within any course to see assignments, tests, and other content as a student would see it. The "Student Preview" button is a circular icon, which resembles the shape of an eye, located near the "Edit Mode" button at the top-right corner of the course screen. Upon clicking the "Student Preview" button, instructors can explore the course as a student.

      student preview icon


      A yellow/orange bar will appear at the top of the screen when you are in "Student Preview." By clicking the Exit Preview button in the right corner of this bar, instructors can exit the preview. 


      At this point, instructors will be prompted to either keep student preview data in the course (recommended for viewing/testing assignment submissions and My Grades), or delete the preview data (recommended if instructors do not want to see any saved data, such as a test submission). 

      If instructors choose to keep student preview data, it will be saved in the Grade Center as the instructor's LastName_PreviewUser. Ex: Smith_PreviewUser. This data can be removed later by entering student preview again, clicking the Settings button in the yellow/orange preview bar, and choosing to delete the data.



2. Take the test/quiz. View the results from "My Grades."

3. Click the Exit Preview button. If the results are what you expect, select the "Delete the preview user and all data."
If you wish to adjust the settings, select the "Keep the preview user and all data." This setting will keep the test attempt. When you adjust the setting, you will return to the Student Preview mode and view the results from the "My Grades."

Save or delete Student Preview settings

See Also:




Keywords:blackboard, black board, bb, tests, settings, results, feedback, edit test options, edit, test results for students, show answers to students, answers, feedback, showing feedback   Doc ID:56123
Owner:Laura M.Group:Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Created:2015-09-10 16:26 CDTUpdated:2016-06-13 15:41 CDT
Sites:Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Feedback:  0   0